Inside the box score: Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio


Numbers to note following the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio at the 2.258-mile Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course - the 13th race of the 2017 Verizon Indy Car Series season:

1 – Position gained by Conor Daly (11th to 10th) in the final 9 laps of the race.

1.22 – Average running position for winner Josef Newgarden during the 90 laps of racing at Mid-Ohio.

6 – Consecutive races led by Newgarden.

7 – Positions gained by Mikhail Aleshin, most of any driver.

17 – Points separating Newgarden from fourth-place Simon Pagenaud in the Verizon IndyCar Series standings after the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio. Newgarden leads Helio Castroneves by seven points and Scott Dixon by eight points.

22 – Laps in which JR Hildebrand improved his position, most of any driver.

49– Indy car poles for Will Power, who tied Bobby Unser for fourth all-time. It is the sixth time in his career that Power has won at least five poles in a season.

72 – Drivers with at least six Indy car wins after Newgarden won his third race of the season at Mid-Ohio.

220 – Consecutive starts by Dixon, the second-longest streak in Indy car history.

278 – Consecutive starts by Tony Kanaan, extending his all-time record.

340 – Indy car starts for Castroneves which is third on the all-time list. Kanaan is fourth on the list with his 339 starts.

From the fans