Inside the box score: Iowa Corn 300


Numbers to note following the Iowa Corn 300 at the 0.894 -mile Iowa Speedway - the 11th race of the 2017 Verizon Indy Car Series season:

1 – Win at Iowa Speedway for cars owned by Roger Penske. It was the only current Indy car track where the team had not won previously.

1.59 – Average running position for winner Helio Castroneves during the 300 laps of racing at Iowa Speedway.

2 – Positions gained by Scott Dixon in the final 30 laps of the race (10th to eighth).

3.25 – Average finishing position for Will Power in the last four races. Power has gained six positions in the point standings since Belle Isle-2.

8 – Points separating Dixon from Castroneves in the Verizon IndyCar Series standings after the Iowa Corn 300.

9 – Different Verizon IndyCar Series in 11 races in 2017.

12 – Positions gained by Ryan Hunter-Reay, most of any driver.

16 – Seasons that Castroneves has won at least one Indy car race over the 20 seasons he has competed in.

19 – Tracks that Castroneves has won at during his career after winning his first at Iowa.

27 – Laps in which Dixon and Josef Newgarden improved their position, most of any driver.

30 – Indy car wins for Castroneves, which gave him sole possession of 12th on the all-time list.

218 – Consecutive starts by Dixon, the second-longest streak in Indy car history.

276 – Consecutive starts by Tony Kanaan, extending his all-time record.

338 – Indy car starts for Castroneves which is third on the all-time list. Kanaan is fourth on the list with his 336 starts.

5,947 –Laps led for Castroneves in his Indy car career. Castroneves led 217 laps at Iowa, which passed Al Unser for fourth on the all-time list.

From the fans