Inside the Box Score: Rainguard Water Sealers 600


Numbers to note following the Rainguard Water Sealers 600 at the 1.5 -mile Texas Motor Speedway - the ninth race of the 2017 Verizon Indy Car Series season:

2.07 – Average running position for Will Power during the 248 laps of racing at Texas.

8 – Positions gained by Tony Kanaan in the final 25 laps of the race (10th to second).

13 – Points separating Scott Dixon from Simon Pagenaud in the Verizon IndyCar Series standings after the Rainguard Water Sealers 600. The top five are separated by 40 points.

15 – Positions gained by Gabby Chaves, most of any driver.

23 – Lead changes, the most lead changes at Texas since there were a track record 32 in June of 2001.

31 – Indy car wins for Power, which tied Dario Franchitti and Paul Tracy for ninth on the all-time list.

42 – Laps in which Graham Rahal improved his position, most of any driver.

59 – Total positions gained by Pagenaud in 2017.

204 - Drivers who have earned an Indy car pole position after Charlie Kimball claimed his first pole at Texas.

216 – Consecutive starts by Dixon, the second-longest streak in Indy car history.

274 – Consecutive starts by Kanaan, extending his all-time record.

336 – Indy car starts for Helio Castroneves which is third on the all-time list. Kanaan is fourth on the list with his 335 starts.

3,436 – Laps led by Power in his career, which ranks 12th on the all-time list. By leading 180 laps at Texas, Power passed Gordon Johncock (3,360 laps led), Sam Hornish Jr. (3,428 laps led) and Rick Mears (3,435 laps led) at Texas.

From the fans