Inside the Box Score: INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen


Numbers to note following the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen presented by Hitachi on the 3.37-mile Watkins Glen International circuit - the 15th round of the 2016 Verizon Indy Car Series season:

1.73 – Average running position of race winner Scott Dixon for the 60 laps of racing at Watkins Glen.

4 – Wins in seven starts at Watkins Glen International for Scott Dixon. … Also the number of podium finishes in 2016 for Josef Newgarden.

6 – Positions gained by Sebastien Bourdais (11th to fifth) and Marco Andretti (18th to 12th) in the final six laps of the race.

8 – Lead changes in the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen, which tied 2009 for most ever at Watkins Glen.

11 – Consecutive seasons that the Verizon IndyCar Series championship will be decided in the final race of the season.

12 – Wins from the pole by Dixon, which is tied with Michael Andretti and Helio Castroneves for seventh all-time.

13 – Positions improved by Conor Daly (17th to fourth), most of any of the 22 starters.

24 – Laps in which Takuma Sato improved his position, most of any driver.

40 – Career Indy car wins for Dixon, who moved into sole possession of fourth place on the all-time list.

43 – Points separating leader Simon Pagenaud from Will Power in the Verizon IndyCar Series standings.

50 – Laps led by Dixon, a Watkins Glen race record.

90 – Career podium finishes for Castroneves after his third-place finish. Castroneves ranks sixth on the all-time list.

200 – Career Indy car starts for Ryan Hunter-Reay, who became the 20th driver to reach the milestone.

264 – Consecutive starts by Tony Kanaan, extending his all-time record.

326 – Indy car starts for Castroneves, which ranks fourth on the all-time list. Kanaan ranks fifth on the list with his 325 starts.

1,981 – Laps completed by Charlie Kimball during the 2016 season, of 1,985 possible.

4,899 – Career laps led by Dixon, moving him ahead of Bobby Unser (4,863) for sixth all-time.

From the fans