Dixon, Rossi nominated for 2016 ESPY Awards


When the red carpet rolls out for the 24th annual ESPY Awards on July 13 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, two of the Verizon IndyCar Series’ brightest stars will be on the exclusive list.

Scott Dixon, the reigning series champion, and Alexander Rossi, winner of last month’s 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil, were named today as nominees in the “Best Driver” category. Other nominees are NASCAR’s Kyle Busch, Formula One’s Lewis Hamilton and NHRA’s Erica Enders-Stevens.

Fans can click here to cast a vote for their favorite driver. Voting is open until 8 p.m. ET July 13, with only one vote permitted per category.

“It is such a huge honor to be nominated for the Best Driver ESPY this year,” said Rossi, the Andretti Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian driver who became the first Indy 500 rookie to win the race in 15 years. “It will be a pleasure to spend an evening with such an exceptional group of athletes who have all accomplished something pretty incredible. I very much look forward to being able to represent and share my passion for the Verizon IndyCar Series next month."

Dixon is a four-time Verizon IndyCar Series champion and winner of the 2008 Indianapolis 500. The Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver was previously nominated for an ESPY in 2014. This is Rossi’s first nomination.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay won the “Best Driver” ESPY two consecutive years, in 2013 and in 2014.

From the fans