Through Our Lenses: Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix


The Verizon IndyCar Series returned to Phoenix International Raceway for the first time since 2005, and the Desert Diamond West Valley Phoenix Grand Prix was everything it was made out to be.

Scott Dixon took the lead from Juan Pablo Montoya on Lap 96 and never looked back, claiming his 39th win of his legendary Indy car career, tying him with Al Unser for fourth in all-time victories. Dixon also set an Indy car record by winning a race for the 12 consecutive season. He was previously deadlocked at 11 with Bobby Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi and Helio Castroneves. It was also the 101st Indy car win for the Ganassi team.

But there was much more action and excitement, both on and off the track, all weekend long. Check out all that the INDYCAR photography team captured over a picturesque three days with our newest installation of "Through Our Lenses."

Graham Rahal

Helio Castroneves

Sebastien Bourdais

From the fans